Litchfield: America's First Law School
Written by Lynne Templeton Brickley, Margaret Hodges, Whitney Bagnall, Mark Boonshoft, Justin Simard, Ronald Chester, and the Litchfield Historical Society.
In the early years of American nationhood, the Litchfield Law School produced hundreds of the young republic's most influential men - statesmen, jurists, entrepreneurs, explorers, thinkers, artists, and reformers. National figures such as Aaron Burr, John C. Calhoun and Horace Mann began their careers in Tapping Reeve's small, wood-frame lecture hall. The ideals they absorbed and teh people they met during their time in Litchfield shaped American law and politics on a national scale, and still form the bedrock of our country's institutions. Today, the National Landmark Tapping Reeve House and Law School are owned and interpreted by the Litchfield Historical Society.